Vere Street ran northwards from Chapel Street to Broad Street before it was demolished during the 1960s.
Named after London banker James Vere
Both Vere Street and James Street were named after James Vere (1800-1883), who worked in the London banking company. James Street was named after his brother John Vere JP.
Development and land acquisition
During the 1830s the river Mowbeck had been culverted and land in Little Gonerby was being acquired for housing development.
James Vere developed Vere Street, Vere Court and James Street. He also acquired land in Wymondham, Hough on the Hill, Gelston, Stubton, Conisholme and Wigtoft.
After 1851 James moved with his brother John to Carlton House (now Hall), Carlton on Trent, near Newark, where they lived with six servants.
Site today
Premier Court now stands on the site where Vere Street once ran.




